Corey Heim leads Toyota top five in Toyota 200

Toyota was more than thrilled with how Saturday’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway transpired. Living up to the Toyota 200 name, Toyota drivers occupied the top five positions led by Corey Heim, who secured his second career Truck win after taking the lead from fellow Tundra driver Christian Eckes in overtime.

The Toyotas of Eckes and Ben Rhodes won the first two stage. Chevrolet’s Carson Hocevar and Grant Enfinger, as well as Ford’s Zane Smith prevented the Japanese make from fully dominating as they led laps, but Hocevar would be involved in a horrific accident on the final lap that ended the race under caution: Hocevar had spun before being impacted at race speed by Tyler Hill.

Although Hocevar walked to the ambulance and gave a thumbs up, he was hospitalised for further examination.

“Following the incident on the last lap of today’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event at World Wide Technology Raceway, Carson Hocevar was transported to a local hospital for further evaluation of his right lower extremity,” reads a statement from employer Niece Motorsports later in the day“Additional medical updates will be forthcoming, with no further comment at this time.”

It was not all smooth sailing for Toyota, who lost points leader John Hunter Nemechek to a multi-driver wreck on lap 55, his first retirement of the year. The exit and second-to-last-place finish dropped Nemechek from first to fourth in the standings while Rhodes assumed the lead.

Despite the setback for Kyle Busch Motorsports, Heim held off Eckes and team-mate Chandler Smith to hold the lead when the Hocevar accident occurred, ending the race under caution. The win is Heim’s second after triumphing in Atlanta, and the first for KBM at Gateway since Christopher Bell in 2016.

“For the rest of this year, I’ve found myself in bad spots and really just not been able to finish races so today really helped my mindset of just finishing, being there in the end and just keeping my truck clean,” said Heim. “I felt like out of the whole entire top ten, everyone had damage except for me. It was great for a situation in the end, where we could win the race.”

“It was a great day. I just tried to stay out front and stay out of trouble for the most part. I’ve had my ups and downs this year where I’ve kind of been a little too aggressive and it came back to bite me. I was just trying to stay up front and keep my truck clean in the end and it all paid off. My Tundra TRD Pro was phenomenal. KBM did a great job and I’m proud to be a part of this Toyota 200.”

Stewart Friesen and Johnny Sauter rounded out the Toyota-only top five. Rhodes and Chase Purdy also notched top tens for the manufacturer.

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 1 51 Corey Heim Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota 165 Running
2 5 98 Christian Eckes ThorSport Racing Toyota 165 Running
3 4 18 Chandler Smith Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota 165 Running
4 3 52 Stewart Friesen Halmar Friesen Racing Toyota 165 Running
5 18 13 Johnny Sauter ThorSport Racing Toyota 165 Running
6 16 25 Matt DiBenedetto Rackley WAR Chevrolet 165 Running
7 36 19 Derek Kraus McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 165 Running
8 15 99 Ben Rhodes ThorSport Racing Toyota 165 Running
9 2 38 Zane Smith Front Row Motorsports Ford 165 Running
10 13 61 Chase Purdy Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota 165 Running
11 19 7 Rajah Caruth Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 165 Running
12 11 88 Matt Crafton ThorSport Racing Toyota 165 Running
13 20 16 Tyler Ankrum Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota 165 Running
14 25 40 Dean Thompson Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 165 Running
15 26 1 Hailie Deegan David Gilliland Racing Ford 165 Running
16 30 3 Jordan Anderson Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet 165 Running
17 29 56 Timmy Hill Hill Motorsports Toyota 165 Running
18 24 45 Lawless Alan Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 165 Running
19 32 24 Jack Wood GMS Racing Chevrolet 165 Running
20 22 02 Jesse Little Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 165 Running
21 35 30 Tate Fogleman On Point Motorsports Toyota 165 Running
22 23 9 Blaine Perkins CR7 Motorsports Chevrolet 165 Running
23 7 91 Colby Howard McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 165 Running
24 12 42 Carson Hocevar Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 164 Accident
25 27 5 Tyler Hill Hill Motorsports Toyota 164 Accident
26 28 22 Austin Wayne Self AM Racing Chevrolet 164 Accident
27 33 33 Mason Maggio Reaume Brothers Racing Chevrolet 164 Running
28 10 23 Grant Enfinger GMS Racing Chevrolet 163 Running
29 21 35 Jake Garcia McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 161 Running
30 14 15 Tanner Gray David Gilliland Racing Ford 156 Accident
31 34 12 Spencer Boyd Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 151 Electrical
32 8 66 Ty Majeski ThorSport Racing Toyota 136 Running
33 17 44 Kris Wright Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 93 Accident
34 31 46 Brennan Poole G2G Racing Toyota 77 Rear Gear
35 6 4 John Hunter Nemechek Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota 57 DVP
36 9 17 Taylor Gray David Gilliland Racing Ford 45 Accident
DNQ 20 Matt Mills Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet
DNQ Justin Carroll TC Motorsports Toyota
DNQ 43 Blake Lothan Reaume Brothers Racing Toyoya
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year

Source link