Jeb Burton wins maiden Xfinity race in rain-shortened Ag-Pro 300

Please clap for Jeb Burton because he is now a NASCAR Xfinity Series winner. In Saturday’s Ag-Pro 300 at Talladega Superspeedway, Burton was the leader when the race was called after 90 of 113 laps due to rain.

Austin Cindric started on the pole ahead of Daniel Hemric. Joey Gase, who was running a one-off in a #28 Davey Allison tribute scheme, lost fuel pressure prior to the green flag and had to re-fire the car in the garage before joining the race five laps down.

Cindric led the opening lap before Hemric took the position and pulled off. After Hemric led fifteen laps, the top spot was traded between him, Cindric, Noah Gragson, Justin Haley, and Jason White with none of them leading more than three laps. By the end, Haley—who was seeking his third consecutive Talladega victory—took the stage win. Kaulig Racing team-mate Burton, Gragson, Cindric, Harrison Burton, A.J. Allmendinger, Hemric, Brandon Jones, Brandon Brown, and Justin Allgaier closed out the top ten.

Haley and Jeb Burton led the field to the start of Stage #2. The Kaulig drivers held the top of the leaderboard early in the segment before Cindric took the lead on lap 42. Gragson, who dropped back earlier in the stage and set the fastest lap, climbed back through the order and nabbed the stage win with JR Motorsports team-mate Allgaier in tow. Cindric, Jones, Ty Dillon, Myatt Snider, Hemric, Brett Moffitt, Michael Annett, and Brown also finished in the top ten. Bayley Currey exited the race on lap 34 with an overheating issue.

White retired from the race with a suspension failure between stages. The race resumed with Gragson leading before battling Snider and Cindric led laps. Green-flag pit stops commenced on lap 70 with Cindric giving up the lead to Harrison and Jeb Burton. The cousins pitted shortly after which allowed Brown, Colby Howard, and Ryan Vargas to spend time in front; Vargas led three laps, his first in his Xfinity career. Jeffrey Earnhardt nearly spun as he came onto pit road but avoided going fully around. Josh Berry was not as fortunate as he spun in turn three after a rear tyre went down, resulting in a caution.

The race resumed as a battle of the Burtons began. On lap 84, Joe Graf Jr.‘s tyre went down in turn two and he slid up into Annett and Jones, clipping the former who turned Dillon into Jones; Gase and Caesar Bacarella also went around. The wreck continues Dillon’s streak of poor luck in 2021; despite being in one of the top Xfinity cars, he has been caught in an incident in each of his four starts so far.

During the ensuing caution, rain began to fall on the track and resulted in a red flag. With no time to dry the track before sunset and Talladega not having lights, NASCAR officially ended the race. With Jeb Burton leading, he was declared the winner for his first Xfinity victory in his maiden full-time season.

It is Burton’s first NASCAR national series victory since 2013 in the Camping World Truck Series.

“It’s been a tough road to get to this point,” said Burton. “Just an unbelievable race team. Today, we had Mother Nature on our side, but we had a fast car anyway. We ran up front all day. We’ve been building and building and building, and I feel like I’ve kind of been the weak link the last couple of races, and I need to clean some things up.

“Just the momentum, that’s what I needed. I want to win races. I told them (Kaulig Racing) that I wanted to come there and hang banners.”

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 9 10 Jeb Burton Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
2 1 22 Austin Cindric Team Penske Ford 90 Running
3 11 16 A.J. Allmendinger Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
4 19 98 Riley Herbst Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 90 Running
5 17 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing Ford 90 Running
6 4 9 Noah Gragson JR Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
7 18 68 Brandon Brown Brandonbilt Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
8 5 11 Justin Haley Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
9 10 2 Myatt Snider Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
10 3 20 Harrison Burton Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 90 Running
11 23 44 Tommy Joe Martins Martins Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
12 2 18 Daniel Hemric Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 90 Running
13 27 66 Timmy Hill MBM Motorsports Ford 90 Running
14 14 51 Jeremy Clements Jeremy Clements Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
15 22 26 Colin Garrett Sam Hunt Racing Toyota 90 Running
16 26 61 David Starr MBM Motorsports Toyota 90 Running
17 13 02 Brett Moffitt Our Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
18 20 48 Jade Buford Big Machine Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
19 37 15 Colby Howard JD Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
20 32 4 Landon Cassill JD Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
21 30 36 Alex Labbé DGM Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
22 33 0 Jeffrey Earnhardt JD Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
23 21 47 Kyle Weatherman Mike Harmon Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
24 38 23 Natalie Decker Our Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
25 36 5 Matt Mills B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
26 34 78 Jesse Little B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
27 31 99 Mason Massey B.J. McLeod Motorsports Toyota 90 Running
28 15 92 Josh Williams DGM Racing Chevrolet 90 Running
29 8 7 Justin Allgaier JR Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
30 39 6 Ryan Vargas JD Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
31 6 8 Josh Berry JR Motorsports Chevrolet 90 Running
32 12 1 Michael Annett JR Motorsports Chevrolet 88 Running
33 35 07 Joe Graf Jr. SS-Green Light Racing Chevrolet 88 Running
34 24 52 Gray Gaulding Jimmy Means Racing Chevrolet 87 Electrical
35 16 54 Ty Dillon Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 87 Accident
36 29 28 Joey Gase SS-Green Light Racing Chevrolet 85 Running
37 7 19 Brandon Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 84 Accident
38 28 90 Caesar Bacarella DGM Racing Chevrolet 84 DVP
39 40 13 Jason White MBM Motorsports Ford 51 Suspension
40 25 74 Bayley Currey Mike Harmon Racing Chevrolet 34 Overheating
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points

Source link