Kyle Busch wins WISE Power 200 in overtime

Kyle Busch and winning in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series go hand in hand, but it was not just cruising for the winningest driver in series history as he had to wrangle the lead away from Austin Hill and fellow Cup Series driver Ross Chastain on the final restart to win the WISE Power 200 at Kansas Speedway.

In a Kyle Busch Motorsports front row sweep, Busch started second alongside employee and points leader John Hunter Nemechek. Two trucks were sent to the rear after a driver change: Bayley Currey replaced Brett Moffitt in Niece Motorsports‘ #45 after the latter switched to Xfinity Series points while C.J. McLaughlin was in Reaume Brothers Racing‘s #34 which had no driver on the entry list.

Nemechek and Sheldon Creed dominated much of the opening stage before Busch took the lead on lap 26 and held it to the conclusion. Nemechek, Creed, Ben Rhodes, Matt Crafton, Hill, Stewart Friesen, Todd Gilliland, Derek Kraus, and Chastain rounded out the top ten.

It was the same story in the second stage as Creed briefly led before Busch was back on top. Nemechek and Creed once again tailed ahead of Hill, Zane Smith, Friesen, Kraus, Rhodes, Gilliland, and Hailie Deegan.

The first race-related caution occurred on lap 71 when Carson Hocevar spun after contact with Christian Eckes. Creed assumed the lead for much of the restart before the Toyotas of Busch, Rhodes, Eckes, and Johnny Sauter spent time in front. Creed’s day would be hampered when he hit the wall and fell multiple laps down.

Jennifer Jo Cobb and Friesen would also produce yellow flags. The latter, who wrecked with Kraus, was responsible for what would be the final caution as overtime was initiated. Despite restarting fourth, Busch stalked Chastain and Hill for much of the first lap before making a three-wide pass for the lead.

Busch drove off to score his sixty-first career Truck victory and second of the year; in four Truck starts in 2021, he has finished either second or first. He has won three of his last four Truck starts at Kansas, with the lone exception being a second in 2018. Chastain settled for second to mark a Cup 1–2 finish, while Hill finished third to leapfrog Creed (who finished thirty-second) for third in points.

“All the restarts were hectic for us,” Busch said after the race. “Any time we started on the front row, we would always go backwards. It just would not fire on the restarts for whatever reason. We definitely had a really good, strong long-run truck.”

The win is the sixth in a row for KBM. With Rhodes’s victories in the first two races of the year, Toyotas have won every Truck event in 2021.

Source link