Kyle Larson dominates Ally 400, 4th win in as many weeks

Kyle Larson cannot be stopped. In Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Nashville Superspeedway, the first in the area since 1984 at the Fairgrounds and the first at the Lebanon track, Larson led 226 of 330 laps en route to his third straight points victory and fourth in as many weeks (including the exhibition All-Star Race).

Larson started fifth while Aric Almirola won his first pole since Atlanta in 2019. His Hendrick Motorsports team-mate William Byron was sent to the rear for unapproved adjustments, as were Quin Houff and Erik Jones.

Houff’s race quickly came to an end when his right-front wheel detached and sent him into the wall on the opening lap. Larson would take the lead for the restart. Additional incidents came with Tyler Reddick spinning followed by Blaney’s two wrecks, the second of which came due to a brake failure and ended his day. Multiple drivers would also suffer tyre or brake issues throughout the race. Chase Elliott took the stage win, which was rolled over to Kurt Busch when Elliott was disqualified. The revised top ten after Elliott’s penalty was Busch, Larson, Daniel Suárez, Kyle Busch, Austin Dillon, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Matt DiBenedetto, and Denny Hamlin.

Bubba Wallace provided the lone incident of Stage #2 when he spun. The segment was the Kyle Show as Larson and Busch were the only drivers to lead laps in it, and the former would take the stage win. Dillon, Chase Briscoe, Byron, Busch, Hamlin, Stenhouse, Almirola, Kevin Harvick, and Kurt Busch followed.

The third stage began on lap 191 with Larson continuing to lead. Ryan Preece spun seven laps later, followed by Wallace doing so again on lap 219. Briscoe wrecked on lap 228. Larson led at the restart and held off Ross Chastain to win his tenth career Cup race. Chastain, incidentally driving the Chip Ganassi Racing #42 that Larson previously raced until his suspension last year, finished a career-best second.

“We’ve had probably the best race car on the racetrack for at least a month and a half,” said Larson. “Good to take advantage of it, get another win. Able to jump out to a lead right from the get-go, basically lead the rest of the race. If it wasn’t for the cautions at the ends of the stages, we had a near perfect day.

“It’s awesome to get multiple wins in a row now in the Cup Series; I mean, really it’s four wins in a row. Just cool to do that. Didn’t think that was possible ever for me in the Cup Series anyways. I’ve gone on streaks in dirt racing and stuff before, but never been close to doing anything like that in Cup.

“[…] To get to now double-digit point paying wins is great. I’d like to keep winning and keep inching my name up the winner’s list not only at NASCAR but at Hendrick Motorsports, too. I think that’s important to me.”

Although Larson had plenty of reason to celebrate, Hendrick team-mate Elliott did not. After finishing thirteenth, he was disqualified as his car was found to have five loose lug nuts in post-race inspection; three or more automatically resulted in a disqualification.

“If it had come off and we crash, we would then get to keep our stage points? Honest question,” Elliott tweeted afterwards.

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 5 5 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
2 19 42 Ross Chastain Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
3 4 24 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
4 1 10 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 300 Running
5 12 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 300 Running
6 14 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
7 22 99 Daniel Suárez Trackhouse Racing Team Chevrolet 300 Running
8 30 1 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
9 25 20 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 300 Running
10 3 22 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford 300 Running
11 2 18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 300 Running
12 28 3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
13 29 6 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing Ford 300 Running
14 8 48 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
15 24 7 Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
16 23 34 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Ford 300 Running
17 18 38 Anthony Alfredo Front Row Motorsports Ford 300 Running
18 26 8 Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
19 9 43 Erik Jones Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
20 21 23 Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing Toyota 299 Running
21 13 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 299 Running
22 35 19 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 299 Running
23 15 2 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford 299 Running
24 11 21 Matt DiBenedetto Wood Brothers Racing Ford 298 Running
25 36 53 Garrett Smithley* Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet 298 Running
26 34 52 Josh Bilicki Rick Ware Racing Ford 298 Running
27 32 51 J.J. Yeley* Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet 298 Running
28 31 78 B.J. McLeod* Live Fast Motorsports Ford 295 Running
29 37 15 Joey Gase* Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet 295 Running
30 7 41 Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 252 Running
31 16 14 Chase Briscoe Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 227 Accident
32 20 37 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 197 Brakes
33 33 66 Chad Finchum* MBM Motorsports Toyota 157 Rear End
34 38 13 David Starr* MBM Motorsports Toyota 126 Brakes
35 27 77 Justin Haley* Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 79 Accident
36 17 17 Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Racing Ford 77 Accident
37 10 12 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Ford 53 Accident
38 39 00 Quin Houff StarCom Racing Chevrolet 0 Accident
39 6 9 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running (DQ)
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Cup points

Source link