Paul Morris now 2-for-2 in Tassie SST action

Paul Morris‘s strong start to the 2021 Boost Mobile Super Trucks season continued on Sunday with his second Tasmania SuperSprint victory in as many races. He held off a late charge by Shae Davies to score his second straight win and put him in prime position to claim the overall weekend victory with another strong performance in Race #3 later in the day.

After his Race #1 ended on the opening lap with a broken throttle cable, Davies started on the pole ahead of Russell Ingall, who filled in for the injured Nash Morris in the #94. Due to a field inversion, Paul Morris started last.

A great start by Ingall saw him take off into the lead before the field even reached the opening corner. Continuing the popular overtaking strategy from the first race, Davies retook the position in the turn four hairpin and led the first lap.

Weel passed Davies in the final sector to lead the second lap, initiating a battle between the two through the third that Davies won. A lap later, Weel went into the grass after the hairpin, while Morris moved into the lead and held the spot when the competition caution came out. Davies, Weel, Ingall, Shaun Richardson, and Dave Casey followed.

Morris continued to lead at the restart. Weel passed Morris for the lead in turn six to lead the sixth lap. Behind them, Davies and Richardson battled for third. The two clashed on various instances which included locking the brakes and hitting in the hairpn.

At the front, Morris reclaimed the spot as lap seven began. Weel briefly cleared Morris on the outside at the hairpin before Morris passed him.

On lap eight, Richardson spun after being clipped by Davies prior to reaching the first ramp, and the latter eventually lost his hood after clearing the jump. By the second competition yellow on lap ten, Weel led Morris, Davies, Ingall, Richardson, and Casey.

The final green flag saw Weel and Morris continue to fight for the lead. The latter took the lead to start lap eleven, while the hood-less Davies claimed second from Weel. Davies closed the gap at the white flag but Morris kept him at bay through the hairpin.

A final effort by Davies failed as Morris scored his second straight win of the weekend. It is Morris’s first multi-win weekend since he won two of three at Perth in 2017. With his fifth career victory, he breaks a seven-way tie on the all-time win list (shared with Burt Jenner, P.J. Jones, Keegan Kincaid, Apdaly Lopez, Rob MacCachren, and Cole Potts) and is now the sole driver in sixth.

Davies settled for second to notch his second career podium, while Weel scored his second consecutive third-place finish. Richardson, Ingall, and Casey closed out the running order.

The third and final race of the weekend will take place later in the day at 2:50 PM local time (AEST).

Race results

Finish Number Driver Laps Completed Status
1 67 Paul Morris 13 Running
2 88 Shae Davies 13 Running
3 50 Paul Weel 13 Running
4 12 Shaun Richardson 13 Running
5 94 Russell Ingall 13 Running
6 121 Dave Casey 13 Running

Source link