Scott Dixon Fastest in Second Day of Indy 500 Practice

Chip Ganassi Racing‘s Scott Dixon topped the speed charts on the second day of Indianapolis 500 practice, with his tow-assisted speed of 226.829 mph holding at the top for nearly two hours to the end of the session. It’s known that team owner Chip Ganassi likes winners, and all four of his cars found their way into the top ten by the checkered flag.

The session was delayed by fifteen minutes so that Top Gun Racing‘s RC Enerson could finish his rookie orientation program, which he completed successfully. When the session went green, Dixon’s teammate Marcus Ericsson led the early stages, sitting at the top for the first four hours of the day as teams ran various programs. The Swede also held the lead through a small rain delay for sprinkles in turns three and four a little over two hours into the session.

Ericsson was finally bested by the Ed Carpenter Racing duo of Conor Daly and Ed Carpenter with just under two hours left in the practice session, and they were then bested by Dixon who took that speed to the finish. Daly and Carpenter finished second and third in another strong day for ECR, with their third driver Rinus Veekay just outside the top ten in eleventh, while Ericsson finished fourth.

Tony Kanaan makes his return to the car normally driven by Jimmie Johnson, finishing the second day of practice in fifth as he looks to win his second Indianapolis 500 after drinking the milk in 2013.

After his right rear wheel caught fire towards the end of yesterday’s practice session, Sebastien Bourdais and the A.J. Foyt Enterprises team rebounded for a sixth place finish today. All three of his Foyt teammates placed twenty-fifth or worse, showing just how much the four-time Champ Car champion has elevated that program.

Patricio O’Ward, winner of the 2021 Xpel 375, came home seventh fastest for Arrow McLaren SP. After showing consistent pace at Indy in the April test, O’Ward continues to improve and excite IndyCar fans everywhere.

Alex Palou was the slowest of the Ganassi cars in eighth, but having all four cars inside the top ten just goes to show how much speed Ganassi has. Palou qualified seventh last year as a part of Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh, and is showing that same kind of pace early in testing.

The last two spots of the top ten belong to the city of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, with Dreyer and Reinbold Racing‘s Sage Karam ninth and Marco Andretti tenth. Karam follows up a shock fourth place finish on day one with another top ten finish, the best speed of any part time or Indy 500-only team in the field. Andretti felt that his team still had work to be done, but a top ten car is a great starting point.

Practice will continue tomorrow, 20 May, at 1200 EST / 1700 BST.

2021 Indianapolis 500 Practice Day 2 Results

1 9 Scott Dixon NZL Chip Ganassi Racing 226.829
2 47 Conor Daly USA Ed Carpenter Racing 226.372
3 20 Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing 226.103
4 8 Marcus Ericsson SWE Chip Ganassi Racing 226.007
5 48 Tony Kanaan BRA Chip Ganassi Racing 225.774
6 14 Sebastien Bourdais FRA A.J. Foyt Enterprises 225.491
7 5 Pato O’Ward MEX Arrow McLaren SP 225.409
8 10 Alex Palou ESP Chip Ganassi Racing 225.302
9 24 Sage Karam USA Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 225.300
10 98 Marco Andretti USA Andretti Herta-Haupert w/ Marco & Curb-Agajanian 225.018
11 21 Rinus VeeKay NED Ed Carpenter Racing 224.993
12 27 Alexander Rossi USA Andretti Autosport 224.988
13 6 Helio Castroneves BRA Meyer Shank Racing 224.875
14 15 Graham Rahal USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 224.813
15 12 Will Power AUS Team Penske 224.785
16 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport 224.781
17 3 Scott McLaughlin (R) NZL Team Penske 224.352
18 26 Colton Herta USA Andretti Autosport 224.315
19 60 Jack Harvey GBR Meyer Shank Racing 224.236
20 30 Takuma Sato JPN Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 224.057
21 18 Ed Jones UAE Dale Coyne Racing w/ Vasser-Sullivan 223.846
22 7 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Arrow McLaren SP 223.779
23 86 Juan Pablo Montoya COL Arrow McLaren SP 223.549
24 16 Simona De Silvestro SUI Paretta Autosport 223.545
25 1 JR Hildebrand USA A.J. Foyt Enterprises 223.523
26 59 Max Chilton GBR Carlin 223.190
27 25 Stefan Wilson GBR Andretti Autosport 223.046
28 22 Simon Pagenaud FRA Team Penske 222.983
29 51 Pietro Fittipaldi BRA Dale Coyne Racing w/ Rick Ware Racing 222.596
30 2 Josef Newgarden USA Team Penske 222.544
31 4 Dalton Kellett CAN A.J. Foyt Enterprises 222.496
32 29 James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport 222.130
33 11 Charlie Kimball USA A.J. Foyt Enterprises 221.244
34 45 Santino Ferrucci USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 219.088
35 75 RC Enerson USA Top Gun Racing No Speed
(R) = Rookie

Source link