Ty Gibbs wins Alsco Uniforms 300, 2-time winner in first 6 starts

This Ty Gibbs kid is good. The 18-year-old has just six career NASCAR Xfinity Series starts yet he is already a two-time race winner after triumphing in Saturday’s Alsco Uniforms 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Stewart-Haas Racing‘s Riley Herbst won his first career pole ahead of SHR’s Cup Series driver Chase Briscoe. Timmy Hill was ordered to the rear due to unapproved adjustments after his right-rear tyre hit the track bar mount during qualifying, but he had already been set to start last.

Herbst led the first seven laps before Briscoe passed him, leading until Daniel Hemric took the spot on lap 40. During Briscoe’s run, two cautions were called with the competition yellow on lap 20 and Xfinity newcomer Grant Enfinger‘s wreck after contact with Chad Finchum on lap 26. Hemric would lead to the stage conclusion ahead of A.J. Allmendinger, Gibbs, Austin Cindric, Jeb Burton, Briscoe, Noah Gragson, Harrison Burton, Ryan Sieg, and Tyler Reddick.

Hemric continued to lead to start the second stage. On lap 90, Gibbs spun while racing Briscoe to result in a caution that ended the stage; the two would tangle again later in the race. By the segment’s end, Hemric was once again on top. Gragson, Cindric, Briscoe, Gibbs, Harrison and Jeb Burton, Justin Allgaier, and Brandon Jones closed out the top ten.

The final stage commenced with Hemric continuing to lead until Briscoe took the lead on lap 114. Five laps later, Jeb Burton spun to force a caution. Another yellow for debris came on lap 144 to break up Briscoe’s lead.

On lap 150, Sieg got loose and slid through turn two before his car turned up exiting the corner into Josh Berry and Brett Moffitt. The impact briefly sent Sieg’s car into the air before sliding through the apron, with Tommy Joe Martins barely squeezing by. Briscoe retook the lead during the ensuing caution and continued to hold it until his next bout with Gibbs: with twenty laps to go, Briscoe and Gibbs were fighting for the lead when the former got loose exiting turn two, causing him to spin through the backstretch apron but avoiding the wall.

“I want to say sorry to Briscoe and the #99 crew,” Gibbs said after the race. “That was not my intention at all to wreck them. I just got on his left rear and didn’t help him out with the air and he kind of hopped the cushion so it didn’t really help that. That was partially my fault and I take that for sure.”

Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

The following restart marked even more chaos when Hemric was turned as the field approached turn one, triggering a pile-up that collected Gragson, Herbst, Jones, Martins, Michael Annett, and Justin Haley, and resulted in a red flag.

While Hemric was knocked out of the race, Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Gibbs took the lead. Gibbs would lead the final laps en route to his second career victory. He had won at the Daytona Road Course in his series début in February.

“It’s definitely nice to win on the oval, especially in my hometown,” added Gibbs. “I’m 30 minutes away from here, so it’s nice to have a win at least once today.

“[…] I was definitely frustrated with myself (after the spin). I completely wrecked myself, but didn’t really make myself look good today and made some mistakes. Definitely still learning how the air works and I’ll take full responsibility for all the mistakes I made. Overall, we ended up in Victory Lane.”

Brandon Brown finished fourth for his second top five of the year, while Briscoe settled for sixth and B.J. McLeod Motorsports‘s second-best finish behind SHR team-mate Kevin Harvick‘s fourth at COTA last week. Ty Dillon, running his first race for Our Motorsports, finally notched his first top ten in seventh. Tyler Reddick, in Jordan Anderson Racing‘s second ever Xfinity race, finished fifth.

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 8 54 Ty Gibbs Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 200 Running
2 4 22 Austin Cindric Team Penske Ford 200 Running
3 13 20 Harrison Burton Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 200 Running
4 32 68 Brandon Brown Brandonbilt Motorsports Chevrolet 200 Running
5 16 31 Tyler Reddick* Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet 200 Running
6 2 99 Chase Briscoe* B.J. McLeod Motorsports Ford 200 Running
7 10 23 Ty Dillon Our Motorsports Chevrolet 200 Running
8 14 19 Brandon Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 200 Running
9 9 10 Jeb Burton Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 200 Running
10 6 51 Jeremy Clements Jeremy Clements Racing Chevrolet 200 Running
11 26 7 Justin Allgaier JR Motorsports Chevrolet 200 Running
12 1 98 Riley Herbst Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 200 Running
13 28 6 Landon Cassill JD Motorsports Chevrolet 200 Running
14 33 36 Alex Labbé DGM Racing Chevrolet 200 Running
15 22 13 Chad Finchum MBM Motorsports Toyota 200 Running
16 20 4 Ryan Vargas JD Motorsports Chevrolet 200 Running
17 25 48 Jade Buford Big Machine Racing Chevrolet 200 Running
18 30 78 Jesse Little B.J. McLeod Motorsports Toyota 200 Running
19 11 11 Justin Haley Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 200 Running
20 31 17 Cody Ware SS-Green Light Racing Toyota 200 Running
21 34 92 Josh Williams DGM Racing Chevrolet 199 Running
22 17 0 Jeffrey Earnhardt JD Motorsports Chevrolet 199 Running
23 21 76 Stefan Parsons B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 199 Running
24 19 1 Michael Annett JR Motorsports Chevrolet 199 Running
25 15 02 Brett Moffitt Our Motorsports Chevrolet 198 Running
26 7 2 Myatt Snider Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 196 Running
27 23 9 Noah Gragson JR Motorsports Chevrolet 187 Accident
28 3 18 Daniel Hemric Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 186 Accident
29 27 44 Tommy Joe Martins Martins Motorsports Chevrolet 186 Accident
30 29 15 Colby Howard JD Motorsports Chevrolet 184 Running
31 12 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing Ford 151 Accident
32 18 8 Josh Berry JR Motorsports Chevrolet 150 Accident
33 5 16 A.J. Allmendinger Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 128 Brakes
34 36 66 Timmy Hill* MBM Motorsports Toyota 114 Engine
35 24 5 Matt Mills B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 103 Accident
36 35 26 Grant Enfinger* Sam Hunt Racing Toyota 26 Accident
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points

Source link