Ty Gibbs wins Skrewball 200, 3rd NXS win in 10 career starts

When Ty Gibbs finally begins full-time competition in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in the future, you can already pencil him in as a playoff and likely championship contender. Until then, he will just keep winning as a part-timer.

Saturday’s Skrewball Peanut Butter Whiskey 200 at Watkins Glen International ended with Gibbs holding off venerable road course expert A.J. Allmendinger to win his third career race in just his tenth start. The effort came in dominating fashion as he led 43 of 82 laps.

Austin Cindric started on the pole and led the entire first segment. Excluding a competition caution on lap 12, the lone yellow flag of the stage came on lap five when NASCAR newcomer Michael Munley crashed into the tyre barrier, though he would return to the race before exiting much later into the event with a suspension failure. Allmendinger, Daniel Hemric, Harrison Burton, Jeb Burton, Justin Haley, Noah Gragson, Brandon Jones, Riley Herbst, and Sam Mayer rounded out the top ten.

Harrison Burton, Jones, Gibbs, and Allmendinger would lead laps in Stage #2 with Allmendinger taking the win ahead of Gibbs, Cindric, Justin Allgaier, Gragson, Herbst, Mayer, Michael Annett, Erik Jones, and Hemric. Annett was making his return to competition after recovering from a leg injury. Alex Labbé‘s car stalling on lap 35 was responsible for the only caution in the segment.

Gibbs led the field to begin the final stage before losing it to Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Hemric and Matt Mills bringing out the caution. Jones, doing a one-off, also wrecked on lap 69 for another yellow, as did Kyle Weatherman on lap 78 after his car caught fire due to an electrical issue. The Weatherman incident set up a four-lap run to the finish, one that saw Gibbs keep Allmendinger at bay en route to the victory.

Besides being the 18-year-old’s third win, it is Gibbs’ second on a road course after triumphing in his Xfinity début at the Daytona Road Course in February.

“That was probably the most fun race I’ve ever been in with A.J. and with the #7 (Allgaier) and the #22 (Cindric), those guys are very experienced veterans in this racing series,” said Gibbs. “To be able to race and beat them just means a lot. I learned a lot from them too. […] The #22 and A.J., the baddest dudes on the road course ever. I don’t really know how I beat them.

“My guys worked so hard and they do such a good job. What a great race. I’m just at a loss for words right now. This is just awesome.”

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 15 54 Ty Gibbs Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 82 Running
2 6 16 A.J. Allmendinger Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
3 2 22 Austin Cindric Team Penske Ford 82 Running
4 1 7 Justin Allgaier JR Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
5 4 20 Harrison Burton Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 82 Running
6 21 19 Brandon Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 82 Running
7 11 9 Noah Gragson JR Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
8 8 10 Jeb Burton Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
9 5 11 Justin Haley Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
10 23 8 Sam Mayer JR Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
11 18 1 Michael Annett JR Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
12 14 68 Brandon Brown Brandonbilt Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
13 10 98 Riley Herbst Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 82 Running
14 19 92 Josh Williams DGM Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
15 7 2 Myatt Snider Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
16 12 51 Jeremy Clements Jeremy Clements Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
17 24 26 Kris Wright* Sam Hunt Racing Toyota 82 Running
18 13 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing Ford 82 Running
19 17 44 Tommy Joe Martins Martins Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
20 20 4 Landon Cassill JD Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
21 16 48 Jade Buford Big Machine Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
22 3 18 Daniel Hemric Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 82 Running
23 35 90 Preston Pardus DGM Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
24 30 17 Josh Bilicki* SS-Green Light Racing Chevrolet 82 Running
25 28 0 Jeffrey Earnhardt JD Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
26 9 02 Brett Moffitt Our Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
27 27 78 Jesse Little B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 82 Running
28 40 61 Stephen Leicht MBM Motorsports Toyota 82 Running
29 32 66 Timmy Hill* MBM Motorsports Chevrolet 81 Running
30 25 07 Joe Graf Jr. SS-Green Light Racing Chevrolet 81 Running
31 31 15 Colby Howard JD Motorsports Chevrolet 81 Running
32 39 74 Bayley Currey* Mike Harmon Racing Chevrolet 81 Running
33 38 52 David Smith Jimmy Means Racing Chevrolet 80 Running
34 22 47 Kyle Weatherman Mike Harmon Racing Chevrolet 75 Electrical
35 34 6 Michael Munley JD Motorsports Chevrolet 74 Suspension
36 36 31 Erik Jones* Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet 66 Accident
37 33 23 Austin Dillon* Our Motorsports Chevrolet 53 Chassis
38 29 5 Matt Mills B.J. McLeod Motorsports Toyota 47 Accident
39 26 36 Alex Labbé DGM Racing Chevrolet 28 Rear Gear
40 37 99 Kyle Tilley* B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 20 DVP
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points

Source link